RPL · ROADSIDE POWER LAB FIELD GUIDE

THE 4 BEST CCS TO NACS ADAPTERS FOR TESLA & NACS EVS (2026)

THE 4 BEST CCS TO NACS ADAPTERS FOR TESLA & NACS EVS (2026)

THE 4 BEST CCS TO NACS ADAPTERS FOR TESLA & NACS EVS (2026)

Certification, weather protection, and ownership: four top CCS to NACS adapters compared, and the one we’d keep in the car.

By Evan Larson | Gear & Testing Editor | Updated September 11, 2026

How a CCS connector connects through a CCS-to-NACS adapter to a Tesla NACS charge port
Four-step CCS1-to-NACS connection guide for charging a Tesla

PUBLIC FAST CHARGING IS WHERE AN ADAPTER EARNS ITS PLACE

A CCS-to-NACS adapter can give a compatible Tesla or newer NACS-equipped EV access to thousands of additional DC fast-charging locations. The four adapters reviewed here all perform that basic job, but they differ significantly in safety verification, weather protection, charging capacity and long-term compatibility. Those differences matter because the adapter becomes the physical connection between a high-powered public charger and the vehicle while carrying hundreds of amps outdoors.

THE FOUR ADAPTERS, SIDE BY SIDE

THE FOUR ADAPTERS, SIDE BY SIDE

Compare the published limits, certification, enclosure protection and ownership terms that separate these four adapters.

Manufacturer-published ratings describe adapter limits; the vehicle and charging station determine delivered power. *Tesla’s 1,000V / 500A rating is marked on the packaging of the unit we examined. Tesla advertises charging up to 250kW. The published IP ratings cover different configurations and are not scored as a like-for-like measure of protection while charging.

SWIPE →

RATED OUTPUT

CERTIFICATION

ENVIRONMENTAL RATING

WARRANTY · EXTRAS

OUR TOP PICK

Lectron CCS-to-NACS adapter
Lectron CCS-to-NACS adapter

#1 LECTRON

$179.99

BUY NOW

→

1,000V / 500A

UL 2252 (SGS)

IP67

2-year limited warranty (direct purchases)

Tesla CCS1-to-NACS adapter

#2 TESLA

$200.00

BUY NOW

→

1,000V / 500A*

Not publicly stated

IP44

12-month limited warranty

Rivian CCS1-to-NACS charging adapter

#3 RIVIAN

$200.00

BUY NOW

→

1,000V / 500A

UL 2252 referenced

IP67

2-year Gear Shop policy

Lucid CCS1-to-NACS charging adapter

#4 LUCID

$220.00

BUY NOW

→

1,000V / 500A

Not publicly stated

IP67

2-year limited warranty

Lectron CCS-to-NACS adapter
Lectron CCS-to-NACS adapter

OUR TOP PICK

LECTRON

UL 2252 · IP67 · 1,000V / 500A

$179.99

BUY NOW

→

Lectron CCS1-to-NACS adapter

OUR TOP PICK

#1 LECTRON

$179.99

BUY NOW

Tesla CCS-to-NACS adapter
A2Z Thunderstorm CCS1-to-NACS adapter

#2 TESLA

$200.00

BUY NOW

Rivian CCS1-to-NACS charging adapter

#3 RIVIAN

$200.00

BUY NOW

Lucid CCS1-to-NACS charging adapter

#4 LUCID

$220.00

BUY NOW

RATED OUTPUT

1,000V / 500A

1,000V / 500A*

1,000V / 500A

1,000V / 500A

CERTIFICATION

UL 2252

Not publicly stated

UL 2252 referenced

Not publicly stated

ENVIRONMENTAL RATING

IP67

IP44

IP67

IP67

WARRANTY · EXTRAS

2-year limited warranty (direct purchases)

12-month limited warranty

2-year Gear Shop policy

2-year limited warranty

OUR TOP PICK · LECTRON

OUR TOP PICK · LECTRON

01

01

Lectron

Lectron

earns our top pick on value, not a claimed hardware edge. It pairs UL 2252 certification, 1,000V / 500A capability and two-year direct-purchase warranty with a lower current price and broader stated NACS compatibility than Tesla’s official adapter.

earns our top pick on value, not a claimed hardware edge. It pairs UL 2252 certification, 1,000V / 500A capability and two-year direct-purchase warranty with a lower current price and broader stated NACS compatibility than Tesla’s official adapter.

Tesla is a strong factory option with a 1,000V / 500A packaging rating and an IP44 enclosure rating. UL 2252 certification is not publicly stated in its U.S. materials. Its compatibility check and retrofit path suit eligible owners; Lectron leads on current price, warranty and stated NACS vehicle support.

Tesla is a strong factory option with a 1,000V / 500A packaging rating and an IP44 enclosure rating. UL 2252 certification is not publicly stated in its U.S. materials. Its compatibility check and retrofit path suit eligible owners; Lectron leads on current price, warranty and stated NACS vehicle support.

Rivian is the factory choice for compatible NACS-equipped Rivians, while Lucid offers a factory-branded adapter with thermal protection and a two-year accessory warranty. Vehicle compatibility should be confirmed before purchase.

Rivian is the factory choice for compatible NACS-equipped Rivians, while Lucid offers a factory-branded adapter with thermal protection and a two-year accessory warranty. Vehicle compatibility should be confirmed before purchase.

Roadside Power Lab is published by Dropcases LLC. Coverage may include affiliate links or products from affiliated companies.

HOW WE COMPARED THEM

HOW WE COMPARED THEM

Four factors separate a dependable fast-charging adapter from one that simply fits the port:

SAFETY CERTIFICATION
Whether the complete adapter has passed UL 2252, the dedicated safety standard for EV charging adapters.

WEATHER PROTECTION
How well the enclosure resists dust, rain, snow, road spray and moisture.

CHARGING CAPABILITY
Whether its voltage, current and power limits suit current Teslas and newer high-voltage NACS vehicles.

COMPATIBILITY & OWNERSHIP
Which vehicles it supports, whether additional hardware is required and what warranty coverage is included.

1. LECTRON CCS TO NACS ADAPTER

BEST FOR PUBLIC FAST CHARGING

Lectron CCS1-to-NACS adapter, ranked first for frequent public fast charging
Lectron CCS1-to-NACS adapter, ranked first for frequent public fast charging

Lectron is our top pick for the strongest overall buying value. Its UL 2252 certification and 1,000V / 500A rating provide documented safety verification and electrical headroom. IP67 protection for the standalone adapter, a competitive current price, a two-year limited warranty on direct purchases and explicit NACS/J3400 support complete the package.

Its 1,000V / 500A rating provides electrical headroom for compatible high-voltage NACS vehicles. Actual charging speed is set by the vehicle and station, not the adapter rating alone.

Lectron lists an IP67 rating for the standalone adapter. That means it is dust-tight and tested against temporary immersion—a higher level of dust and water-ingress protection than IP44 or IP54. It is a meaningful advantage for an adapter carried in a car and handled outdoors, but the rating does not mean a wet connection is safe to use. Keep the contacts clean and dry, and follow the charging instructions.

Lectron’s SGS certification to UL 2252 is a substantive safety credential. UL 2252 is written specifically for EV charging adapters and calls for testing of heat buildup, electrical insulation and durability—not merely a manufacturer’s claim that a product is “safety tested.” That independent assessment gives a concrete reason for confidence in an adapter used for high-power charging. Lectron also states support for compatible Tesla vehicles and newer NACS/J3400 EVs. Direct purchases carry a two-year limited warranty, versus one year for Tesla.

PROS

•

UL 2252 certified by SGS

•

IP67 rating for the standalone enclosure

•

Rated for 1,000V / 500A with explicit J3400 support

CONS

•

Vehicle-maker approval should be checked before purchase

•

Actual charging speed still depends on the vehicle and station

•

No included hard storage case

BEST FOR: Drivers who use public fast chargers regularly, charge in varied weather or want one adapter that can remain useful with a future NACS vehicle.

2. TESLA CCS TO NACS ADAPTER

BEST FACTORY-BRANDED OPTION

Tesla CCS-to-NACS adapter

Tesla is the straightforward factory choice for Tesla owners. Its strongest selling point is clarity about fit. Owners can check CCS compatibility for their specific vehicle in the Tesla app, and supported older cars have a retrofit path. That removes a meaningful source of uncertainty before purchase, especially for drivers who want an official accessory and a clear route to support. The limitation is just as important: eligibility is vehicle-specific, so owners should confirm compatibility rather than assume every Tesla can use the adapter.

The packaging on the unit we examined lists a 1,000V / 500A rating. These are the adapter’s electrical limits, not a promise of 500kW charging. Tesla advertises charging at up to 250kW, with actual speeds determined by the vehicle and charging station.

PROS

•

Factory accessory for supported Tesla vehicles

•

Compatibility check through the vehicle or Tesla app

•

Retrofit support for certain older vehicles

CONS

  • $200 standalone purchase price

  • Twelve-month limited warranty on separately purchased adapters

  • Purchase and intended use limited to eligible Tesla owners and vehicles

• $200 standalone purchase price · • Twelve-month limited warranty on separately purchased adapters · • Purchase and intended use limited to eligible Tesla owners and vehicles

BEST FOR: Tesla owners who prefer the official purchase path or need Tesla to check CCS compatibility and arrange a retrofit.

3. RIVIAN CCS-TO-NACS ADAPTER

THE FACTORY OPTION FOR NACS-EQUIPPED RIVIANS

Rivian CCS1-to-NACS charging adapter

Rivian’s adapter is the straightforward factory option for 2026-and-newer Rivian vehicles with NACS ports. At $200, it provides an approved route to CCS fast charging with a published 1,000V / 500A rating. Its guide lists an IP67 enclosure rating and references UL 2252 as a standard. A separate certification claim is not stated in the reviewed materials.

Rivian recommends using the adapter when necessary, rather than for daily charging. It extends access to CCS stations when a direct NACS connection is unavailable. The linked Gear Shop policy generally provides a two-year limited warranty unless otherwise specified; a separate adapter-specific term is not stated.

PROS

•

Rivian-approved accessory for NACS-equipped Rivians

•

Published 1,000V / 500A rating

•

Documented IP67 protection

CONS

  • No separate adapter-specific warranty term is stated

  • Rivian recommends occasional rather than daily use

  • Compatibility is limited to specified Rivian vehicles

• No separate adapter-specific warranty term is stated · • Rivian recommends occasional rather than daily use · • Compatibility is limited to specified Rivian vehicles

BEST FOR: Owners of 2026-and-newer NACS-equipped Rivians who want an approved adapter for occasional CCS charging.

4. LUCID CCS-TO-NACS ADAPTER

FACTORY-BRANDED CCS FAST CHARGING

Lucid CCS1-to-NACS charging adapter

Lucid’s adapter is a factory-branded option for CCS fast charging. Priced at $220, it supports CCS-to-NACS DC charging, with published limits of 1,000V DC and up to 500A and an IP67-rated enclosure. Delivered charging power depends on the vehicle, charging station and battery conditions.

Its practical strengths include thermal protection and an insertion-depth stopper. Charging stops if the adapter’s surface reaches 140°F / 60°C, while the stopper helps prevent it from being pushed too far into the vehicle’s port. Separate purchases carry a two-year limited accessory warranty. UL 2252 certification is not publicly stated in the reviewed product materials.

PROS

•

Factory-branded adapter with manufacturer support

•

Documented thermal shutoff and insertion safeguard

•

1,000V / 500A rating and two-year accessory warranty

CONS

  • Thermal cutoff can interrupt a charging session

  • High upfront cost at $220

  • UL 2252 certification is not publicly stated

• Thermal cutoff can interrupt a charging session · • High upfront cost at $220 · • UL 2252 certification is not publicly stated

BEST FOR: Drivers seeking a factory-branded CCS charging adapter with documented safeguards and a two-year accessory warranty.

WHAT THE SPECS ACTUALLY MEAN

WHAT UL 2252 CERTIFICATION TELLS YOU

WHAT UL 2252 CERTIFICATION TELLS YOU

UL 2252 targets the failure points that matter most in a high-powered charging adapter: contacts that become too hot, insulation that fails to contain the voltage, connectors that do not remain securely locked and protective systems that fail to respond when something goes wrong.

To pass, the complete adapter must remain within defined electrical, thermal and mechanical safety limits—not merely contain a few individually recognized components.

For buyers, this makes UL 2252 substantially more meaningful than broad claims such as “safety tested,” “built to UL standards” or “made with UL-recognized materials.” Certification provides independent evidence that the finished product has passed the adapter-specific standard under demanding conditions.

For this comparison, we give independently verified UL 2252 certification greater weight than general claims such as “safety tested” or “built to UL standards.” If we could not verify current UL 2252 certification in a manufacturer’s public materials, we mark it as “not publicly stated.” This does not mean the adapter is unsafe or untested, only that we could not verify certification to this specific standard.

Documented incidents involving uncertified DC charging adapters have included overheating and arcing, with the potential to damage charging equipment or the vehicle.

WHAT J3400 COMPATIBILITY MEANS

WHAT J3400 COMPATIBILITY MEANS

SAE J3400 is the official industry standard for the Tesla-style connector commonly called NACS. The same port is now being adopted by newer EVs from other automakers, including vehicles with higher-voltage charging systems.

Explicit J3400 compatibility indicates that an adapter is intended for this broader generation of NACS vehicles. Tesla’s current adapter is also rated for 1,000V, but Tesla specifies it for Tesla vehicles only. Check your automaker’s guidance before using any adapter with a non-Tesla EV.

WHY WEATHER PROTECTION MATTERS HERE

WHY WEATHER PROTECTION MATTERS HERE

A fast-charging adapter carries high-voltage power outdoors, where rain, snow, dust and wet pavement are part of normal use. Moisture or debris around the connection can contribute to corrosion, poor contact and excess heat.

IP stands for Ingress Protection. The first digit describes protection from dust and solid objects; the second describes protection from water. Higher numbers indicate a more tightly sealed enclosure.

• IP67 — 6 means dust-tight; 7 means tested against temporary water immersion for the standalone adapter. Lectron publishes this rating, but it does not by itself rate the connector junctions during an active charging session.

• IP54 — 5 means protected from most dust; 4 means protected from splashing water. It can handle ordinary outdoor exposure and road spray, but should not be soaked, dropped in a puddle or stored wet.

• IP44 — 4 means protection from larger solid objects; 4 means splash resistance. Tesla’s current U.S. manual publishes this rating. Because the published IP figures cover different configurations, we do not score one as better protected while charging.

The rating applies to the enclosure. The terminals should still be inspected and kept clean before every charging session.

Illustration comparing CCS-to-NACS connection stages for EV charging
Illustration comparing CCS-to-NACS connection stages for EV charging

CHOOSE FOR THE CAR YOU HAVE—AND THE ONE YOU MAY HAVE NEXT

CHOOSE FOR THE CAR YOU HAVE—AND THE ONE YOU MAY HAVE NEXT

  • Choose Lectron for the strongest overall balance of verified safety, electrical capability, weather protection and value.

  • Choose Tesla if the official purchase route, vehicle compatibility check or a Tesla-arranged CCS retrofit matters most.

  • Choose Rivian for an approved adapter for a compatible NACS-equipped Rivian, with occasional rather than daily use in mind.

  • Choose Lucid for a factory-branded adapter with documented thermal and insertion safeguards.

  • Choose Lectron for the strongest overall balance of verified safety, electrical capability, weather protection and value.

  • Choose Tesla if the official purchase route, vehicle compatibility check or a Tesla-arranged CCS retrofit matters most.

  • Choose Rivian for an approved adapter for a compatible NACS-equipped Rivian, with occasional rather than daily use in mind.

  • Choose Lucid for a factory-branded adapter with documented thermal and insertion safeguards.

CHECK COMPATIBILITY BEFORE YOU BUY

CHECK COMPATIBILITY BEFORE YOU BUY

Not every Tesla can accept CCS charging without additional hardware. On the touchscreen, open Controls → Software → Additional Vehicle Information and look for “CCS Adapter Support: Enabled.” Owners of other NACS/J3400 vehicles should confirm that their manufacturer permits CCS fast charging through an adapter.

SOURCES & SPECIFICATION NOTES

Specifications, prices, compatibility notes, certification claims and warranty terms were checked against current product pages and policies from Lectron and Tesla in September 2026, with Rivian and Lucid added in October 2026. Tesla’s packaging lists 1,000V / 500A, its manual lists IP44, and its shop page advertises charging up to 250kW. We could not verify publicly stated UL 2252 certification in Tesla’s product materials. Published IP ratings are not scored as a like-for-like measure of protection while connected. Rivian’s guide references UL 2252; this is not presented as independently verified certification. Its warranty entry follows the linked general Gear Shop policy. Prices can change. Roadside Power Lab may receive compensation from qualifying purchases, but rankings are based on the criteria above.

EL

EVAN LARSON

Gear and Testing Editor focused on EV charging hardware, roadside tools, and the ownership details that matter after checkout.

Lectron CCS1-to-NACS DC fast charging adapter

#1 · BEST FOR PUBLIC FAST CHARGING

LECTRON CCS-TO-NACS

UL 2252 · 1,000V / 500A · IP67

$179.99

BUY NOW

ROADSIDE POWER LAB

In-depth coverage for the power systems that keep cars moving.

© 2026 ROADSIDE POWER LAB

Roadside Power Lab is published by Dropcases LLC. Our coverage may include affiliate links or products from affiliated companies.

Roadside Power Lab is published by Dropcases LLC. Our coverage may include affiliate links or products from affiliated companies.